Wednesday, February 15, 2012

Redwall Series

22 Titles: Redwall, Mossflower, Mattimeo, Muriel of Redwall, Salamandastron, Martin the Warrior, Bellmaker, Outcast of Redwall, Pearls of Lutra, Long Patrol, Marlfox, Legend of Luke, Lord Brocktree, Taggerung, Triss, Loamhedge, Rakkety Tam, High Rhulain, Eulalia, Doomwyte, Sable Quean, Rogue Crew

Author: Brian Jacques

Rating: *** (3 stars out of 3 possible, "A")
Highly Recommended

Audience: 4th grade and up

(Guest Reviewer, Paige King, 10 years old)

The Redwall Series is about forest creatures (mice, badgers, moles) that live in a land called Mossflower. In the mythical land of Mossflower, evil creatures (rats, weasels, foxes) try to take over a place called Redwall Abbey. (It's not Catholic.) The critters in Redwall (mice, badgers, otters) respond by fighting back, aided by a vision of Martin the Warrior (a mouse) and riddles that will lead them to his magical sword, crafted from a meteorite. Sometime the GUOSIM (Guerrilla Union of Shrews in Mossflower) or the Badger Lord of Salamandastron with his Long Patrol of hares help out. Some important events are: when Martin's sword is made (Mossflower), when Cluny the Scourge is defeated (Redwall), and when Cregga Roseyes is blinded (Salamandastron). Be careful! There are 20 books in the series. Don't wear yourself out!

I like these books because there are riddles to solve and codes to decipher. The characters are fun to read about. I also like it when the evil creatures get killed. They always say things like "Ha! You can't kill me!" and then they get killed. There are lots of surprises and excitement, so it's fun.

There are about 20 books in the series, so there are a lot of morals. The author, Brian Jacques, uses morals such as: never give up on yourself, friends are important, always try your hardest, and evil never pays. The characters always work together to solve problems and liars and cheaters never win the battles.

(Thank you, Paige. Sounds like you've found a winner.)

No comments:

Post a Comment